Mentoring Committee

 
StartingLab.png

March 8, 2022

Time: 10 am - 12 pm EST/ 4 pm - 6 pm CET/ 7 am - 9 am PST/ 12 am - 2 am (+1) JST

Location: Zoom

Thank you for attending!

Starting and Managing an Academic Lab

Panelists Drs. Christie Towers (Salk Institute, USA), Malene Hansen (Buck Institute for Aging, USA),  Natalia Rodriguez-Muela (DZNE, Germany), Patrice Codogno (INSERM, France), Yuting Zhao (Northwest A&F University, China) and Maho Hamasaki (Osaka University, Japan) joined us to discuss Starting and Managing an Academic Lab.

Mentoring2.jpg

September 23, 2021

Time: 4 pm BST, 5 pm CET, 11 am EDT, 8 am PDT

Expected duration: 75 mins

Location: Zoom

Thank you for attending!

Read about the panel here.

Challenges for Women In Science

Dr. Erika Holzbaur, Dr. Nuria Monserrat, and Dr. Malene Hansen led a session addressing the challenges women face with regards to equal opportunity, equal recognition, leadership roles, and empowerment. This 75 minute virtual event featured a discussion by our three panelists followed by smaller group discussions in breakout rooms.

TeachingWorkshop.jpg

January 26, 2022

Time: 9 am - 11:30 am EST/ 3 pm - 5:30 pm CET/ 6 am - 8:30 am PST/ 11 pm - 1:30 am (+1) JST

Location: Zoom

Thank you for attending!

Teaching in a Pandemic

This workshop featured tips and resources for teaching in-person, hybrid, and on-line courses. In the first part, Dr. Dan Klionsky (University of Michigan) and Dr. Jacob Kagey (University of Detroit Mercy) discussed Challenges in Teaching. In the second part, Dr. Bekky Darner (Illinois State University), Dr. Tor Gjøen (University of Oslo), and Dr. Hiske van Duinen (University Medical Center Groningen) discussed New Teaching Tools. Both parts included opportunities for open discussions with the panelists.

Mentoring1.jpg

September 9, 2021

Time: 8 am BST, 9 am CET, 4 pm JST

Expected duration: 75 mins

Location: Zoom

Thank you for attending!

Read about the panel here.

Challenges for Women In Science

Dr. Patricia Boya, Dr. Maho Hamasaki, and Dr. Jina Swartz will lead a session addressing the challenges women face with regards to equal opportunity, equal recognition, leadership roles, and empowerment. This 75 minute virtual event will feature a discussion by our three panelists followed by smaller group discussions in breakout rooms.

Past events

E-Mentoring "Ask the Mentors" Office Hours

Repeated Sessions

Location: Zoom

Time: Various

Our Mentoring Committee hosts e-Mentoring office hours on Zoom.

Past sessions have been lead by Drs Malene Hansen, Sharon Tooze, Anne Simonsen, and Patricia Boya. 

A new version of group mentoring for future sessions is currently under development